Skip to content

Featuring…. Ahmed Knowmadic

May 31, 2012

For the month of June, I am going to introduce another amazing poet to y’all.  His name is Ahmed Ali, but on stage he goes by the name Ahmed Knowmadic.  The reason for this name is that Ahmed is from Somali background.  The traditional way of life for Somalis is a nomadic one, and Ahmed has also lived a life of travelling, from his homeland of Somalia, to Italy, to Canada.  This young man has blown me away with his spoken word poetry both times I have heard him, and I am delighted that he has given me permission to feature his poetry on this blog.  I urge you to listen and share his poetry as much as you can; it contains powerful messages of anti-racism, pride in one’s culture, and the reality of the immigrant and refugee experience.

Let us know in the comments if you find his poetry as moving as I certainly did.

http://www.ahmedknowmadic.com/

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 11, 2013 7:42 pm

    Hello, I just stopped by to look at this blog. It appears really great and I had a good time reading it, thanks for the helpful writing!

Leave a Reply

