Skip to content

Complicated Life

February 15, 2012

Complicated Life

Complicated Life

by, The Kinks

Well I woke this morning with a pain in my neck,

A pain in my heart and a pain in my chest,

I went to the doctor and the good doctor said,

You gotta slow down your life or you’re gonna be dead,

Cut out the struggle and strife,

It only complicates your life.

Well I cut down women, I cut out booze,

I stopped ironing my shirts, cleaning my shoes,

I stopped going to work, stopped reading the news,

I sit and twiddle my thumbs cos I got nothing to do,

Minimal exercise,

To help uncomplicate my life,

Gotta stand and face it life is so complicated,

Ladi dah di dahdah, ladi dah di dah dah,

You gotta get away from the complicated life, son,

Life is overrated, life is complicated,

Must alleviate this complicated life.

Cut out the struggle and strife,

It’s such a complicated life.

Like old Mother Hubbard

I got nothin’ in the cupboard,

Got no dinner and I got no supper,

Holes in my shoes, I got holes in my socks,

I can’t go to work cos I can’t get a job,

The bills are rising sky high,

It’s such a complicated life,

Gotta stand and face it,

Life is so complicated.

Ladi dah di dahdah, ladi dah di dah dah

Gotta get away from the complicated life, son,

Life is overrated, life is complicated,

Must alleviate this complicated life.

Gotta get away from the complicated life, son,

Gotta get away from the complicated life.

This is by no means a new song, but as I was working my way, yet again, through the album Muswell Hillbillies (1971) it occurred to me that perhaps this song deserved the attention of this blog.  Its message fits in pretty well with the eternal struggle that we try to deal with here on Atlas Smiles (imagine me winking in a schmaltzy, chat-show-host-like fashion).

Recently, in a blog post, Faun divulged her understanding of the relationship between productivity and involvement, and lessening depression.  Obviously, on the other end of this spectrum, too much productivity and involvement can lead to “struggles and strife” which “complicate your life”.  The protagonist of this song rockets between these two extremes, eventually coming to the understanding that cutting out all the complications of life is no better than having too complicated a life.

The song comes to no better solid conclusion than we have thus far.  However, it’s clever social commentary, which is what can be expected from the Kinks. Also, did I mention it’s the Kinks?  That’s good enough for me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

